Skip to content

Nickel Tuesday

June 19, 2012
Nickels

One kid shouted, after a particularly great class, “Son! I have twenty cents!” This is way cheaper and waaaaaay more entertaining than rewarding them with Starbursts and Jolly Ranchers.

Today I started giving out nickels in my classroom in New Orleans. I have this big change jar at home, and rather than go to cash it in, I thought a money experiment at school might be interesting. I’d like to play poker with them for money (strategy, math, money, entertainment), but something tells me that is illegal.

You should see these 16, 17 and 18-year-olds fight for the chance to earn $ .05. You’d think five cents buys something these days. When I was little, I remember getting a Brown Cow sucker from Ray’s Mini Mart for that amount. And a 32 oz. soda was only $ .29. We lived large in Iola, Kansas.

Kids earned their nickels by answering all the questions on their ELA Mad Minutes correctly, reading them aloud to the class, and then explaining why (yes, every single time). Even the most stoned and sleepiest and messiest kids did their work today. Nickels. Magic. Who knew?

Tomorrow is Dime Wednesday, Thursday is Quarter Thursday, and the kids think they’re talking me into Dollar Friday. Little do they know I make less than a garbage collector despite my classroom trash can being filled with fruit flies.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2012 2:46 pm

    Yeah, money is the great incentive. Even just change I guess. I think you can still get a soda at Ray’s mini mart for less than 50cents.

  2. kmrobb1 permalink
    June 19, 2012 2:56 pm

    hmmm i see another paypal check coming your way :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 746 other followers

