Skip to content

Giraffes and Ice Cream Sandwiches

April 7, 2010

The weather is beautiful here, and I’ve been running. I’m pretty proud of myself. There are still so many things to see everywhere I go that I often forget that I’m exercising. Then I trip on the sidewalk (the tree roots make sidewalks in New Orleans quite tricky at times) and am rudely brought back to reality. I hate running, but I’m hoping it’s an acquired taste.

On my Monday morning run, I went through the back side of the Audubon Zoo property and saw a giraffe sneaking leaf treats from trees just over the fence. It’s true: the grass is always greener on the other side of the fence. I stood there for 10 minutes watching the 4 giraffes, considered walking back home, but picked up the pace again, and ran along the Mighty Mississippi for a while.

Creole Cream Cheese

Mindblowing

To reward myself for running, and to completely counteract its effects, I’ve been eating homemade ice cream sandwiches made from oatmeal butterscotch cookies and New Orleans Ice Cream Co.’s Creole Cream Cheese Ice Cream. Count ’em: that’s 3 creams in one name. It’s the closest thing I’ve found to Murray’s Chocolate Flake Fromage, the best ice cream in Kansas City, or anywhere for that matter.

Ice Cream Sandwich

Wrapped in wax paper for easy freezer storage

I made a whole batch of my favorite oatmeal butterscotch cookies at Daniel and Jennifer’s house for our Easter dinner of salmon, fingerling potatoes, portabella mushrooms and arugula and watercress salad. Close to half of the cookies stayed there, I made 4 ice cream sandwiches, and the rest were consumed Monday night by my friend Juan Pablo who had never had butterscotch before. I’ve never seen someone consume so many cookies in one sitting (actually in one standing-in-the-kitchen), but I can’t blame him. Butterscotch is delicious, and is apparently uncommon in Colombia.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 11:53 pm

    i got thai place earlier and saw that murray’s is open for the season. it even sounds good when it’s 46F.

  2. stephen permalink
    April 9, 2010 10:30 am

    Of course I’m now expecting to be served those ice cream sandwiches next visit.

    And keep up the running. I’m also expecting you to join us in one of our short trots through LA or DC some day soon.

  3. krobb permalink
    April 13, 2010 4:30 am

    yummmm! i want that!

Leave a Reply

