Skip to content

Tuesday Morning Farmer’s Market

April 13, 2010
Beet Juice

Amanda's Fresh Juices at the Farmer's Market

The foot of Broadway and Magazine boasts a lovely little Farmer’s Market. After a morning run, my friend Jennifer and I stopped by. She beelined for one booth, explaining that she tries to come to the market every Tuesday, and always buys from this particular booth. She ordered a papaya-lime juice, and I got a beet juice. We both got avocado cream popsicles. I would post a photo of the popsicle except I ate it too fast. Most of the best things that I’ve eaten here I’ve forgotten to photograph due to the distraction of eating. The avocado cream popsicle is one of the best things I’ve eaten here, and this beet juice is fresh and incredible.

Cheesecake

alligator sausage and shrimp cheesecake

Bread Pudding

bread pudding

This weekend was French Quarter Festival, the largest FREE outdoor festival in the USA. It was beautiful weather for outdoor music and food and people watching on Saturday and Sunday. I saw several bands I’ve seen before and a couple I’ve not seen. The best part about the live music here is seeing bands in small venues. It’s harder for me to appreciate the music when I’m being jostled by thirteen year olds, although that’s likely the fair exchange for FQF. The music was decent, but the food was amazing. I had an alligator sausage and shrimp cheesecake, bread pudding that weighed a pound at least, crawfish pie, and a frozen daquiri.

On the Algiers Ferry

on the Algiers Ferry

Sunday I went to Algiers (across the Mississippi River) and rode the ferry across with friends. It was a great way to approach the festival. The river is such a huge part of the culture in New Orleans. It’s so powerful and scary, but also awe-inspiring. Walking through Algiers was a treat too, it’s such a quaint community with a great spirit.

Sunday night we capped the day with a dinner party to watch Treme, the new HBO special on New Orleans. I made Alton Brown’s Mac and Cheese, peas, fresh tomato, cucumber and mint salad, and Daniel grilled sausages (that he got as a gift for buying a new truck– I love the south!). Our group was a funny mixture of transplants from Philly to Kansas to Florida to Colombia, and long time residents, all excited to see the way this city is portrayed in a television series. It was cool for a new comer like me to see Kermit Ruffins in the episode playing at Vaughan’s in the Bywater on Thursdays, just like it normally is. I hope the show does well to improve the image that the media has portrayed about New Orleans. It’s such a beautiful place that tends to be overshadowed by stereotypes.

Off to Atlanta to visit friends and make a few solojones stops along the way!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Loretta permalink
    April 14, 2010 2:16 pm

    I am going to have to be careful about how often I read this, I want to eat several things right now! I may have to borrow a pair of Ice Cube Slim’s old sweats with pockets when I come down!!! Enjoy reading about all your discoveries!

Leave a Reply

