Skip to content

Herbsaint

April 24, 2010
Fries

Fries from Herbsaint

Thursday night signified the beginning of another Jazz Festival season with a street party in the French Quarter with a Zydeco band right in front of the apartment where my friend and I were meeting up with her aunt and uncle. Along with several of their friends, we were invited to dinner at Herbsaint. Chef Donald Link earned the James Beard: South award in 2007. Link and partners have several restaurants here: Cochon, Butcher, and Calcasieu.

We sat at the only empty table in the large Warehouse district building. I was surprised at how many people were there at 9 p.m. on a Thursday night. I should stop being surprised, thinking back on Boucherie, a great little place on Jeanette way uptown, which had a 2 hour wait on a normal Tuesday night. There is so much great food here, and people flock to it.

The food embarrassingly most worthy of mentioning: french fries. Amazing. We had 2 orders for the table, and they. were. incredible. I ordered the chef’s special of tile fish, mashed potatoes and parsnips, and greens. I tasted my neighbor’s spaghetti carbonara, which had a breaded and double fried egg on top instead of mixed in, the most interesting carbonara I’ve had. I also relished the grilled calamari and octopus with black squid ink risotto. The chicken and mushroom ravioli was tender and flavorful. We had banana brown butter tart with fleur de sel caramel for dessert. It was as good as the name is long. If you’ve eaten recently, read the menu, and if you haven’t be prepared to be suddenly starving.

Today was the day I wanted to go to Jazz Fest to see the Funky Meters and Simon and Garfunkel, but we’re expecting terrible storms with tornados, a taste of home (Kansas) in the south, so I think I’ll go find something to eat instead… writing about food mid-morning is making my tummy growl.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jay permalink
    April 24, 2010 9:40 am

    Come to the Fest! The rain will stop and thousands will not show – locals love it when it rains, keeps away the tourists and rookies!

Leave a Reply

