Skip to content

Stung by a Wasp

June 20, 2010
The Extractor

Intended for snake bites, we tried to use this tool to remove the poison from my finger.

Ugh. Yep, that’s right. My first pool experience in New Orleans (which was long overdue, I might add) brought with it a wasp sting to my index finger.

New Orleans has a million bugs. Mosquitos, termites, cockroaches the size of my thumb, june bugs, and the dreaded wasp. You sort of get used to scrambling during a nice, outdoor dinner to make it inside before a termite hatch. You rejoice when your friend can make a mosquito blow up by pumping his arm. I deserved this stupid wasp sting.

Fat Finger

The Extractor didn't remove any poison, but it left this on my finger.

I was at my friend’s apartment for book club. And we were swimming. And not discussing the book. And I went to pick up a bug to throw it out of the pool, but the bug wasn’t dead, and it stung my finger.

And now my hand is fat. And swollen. And my pride is injured.

Was the wasp sting a fair exchange for a morning spent eating basil-laden egg salad sandwiches and lounging in the pool after suffering weeks of relentless one-million degree weather? Yes. Yes it was.

Ow.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2010 11:42 am

    Poor you! that looks seriously painful. 😦 hope it’s better soon.

  2. krobb permalink
    June 21, 2010 10:29 pm

    oh my! looks painful! where do you get an extractor? do they come with the apartment rental? what was your book club book?

Leave a Reply

