Skip to content

Catwoman in the Bathroom

July 22, 2010
Catwoman Photo in Avenue Cafe Bathroom

This catwoman stares seductively from the wall in Avenue Cafe on St. Charles. Bathroom art is much different in New Orleans than in the midwest.

Well I’ve started a new job, and that means I’ve started going to a new coffee shop in the afternoons, Avenue Cafe. It’s right on St. Charles, just a couple blocks from my new office. My favorite part about my new job, other than feeling like I know what I’m doing and can make a big impact on a business that is growing growing growing, is going to the coffee shop to get an americano, using the bathroom, and looking at this seductive catwoman as I make #1. It’s fun to know that I can still be entertained by a photo of a woman whose nails are so long she surely can’t pick up her coffee cup, and who is wearing a leopard outfit in the middle of an empty coffee shop. New Orleans, thank you for continuing to surprise me. Amen.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie Barker permalink
    July 22, 2010 5:42 pm

    Hi Sunny!
    I have to tell you that I have been enjoying your “New to the Orleans” blog for a few months now. I found out about you through Nikki Young Barker. Nikki is my sister-in-law. Chris Barker is my Brother. I love reading about all your experiences in New Orleans. I am coming there August 19-22nd for my Bachlorette Party. I would love it if we could hang out while I am there. Nikki is arriving August 21st. But I will be there for 4 days!!! I’m sure were going to find some interesting things to do. Let me know if you are interested in getting together while we are there.
    Have a good one!
    Julie B.

    • July 22, 2010 6:47 pm

      Julie. Hey. Glad you are enjoying the site. I’m enjoying writing it! I’ll definitely be around that weekend. I’ve already made plans to pick Nikki up and hang with you guys. See you then!!

  2. July 22, 2010 7:17 pm

    Nice one..
    I’ll come back again..

  3. July 27, 2010 10:15 pm

    So here’s coming at ya from a New Orleans boy who transplanted to the Upper MW for 17 years (Michigan, Iowa-Illinois, Minnesota) before moving to NYC. My sonny boy was born in IA and I miss my corn fields mightily sometimes. I also miss my beloved snowy winters, which I am sorry to say we don’t have at all in NYC. I’m back in the Crescent City lots for family visits but must admit I have never quite recaptured my spirit for my home since the storm. Anyway, here’s from a DLS-Loyola-Tulane grad who went to school in the same neighborhood from 8th grade through MA, po-boys at Domilese’s all the way through. Enjoy life. I’ve enjoyed the blog so far….

    John

Leave a Reply

