Skip to content

It’s Snowing Chicken Bits

July 28, 2010
Willie Mae's Scotch House

What a beautiful day for chicken.

Chicken

Oh Willie, Mae I?

I went to Willie Mae’s Scotch House for lunch yesterday with my friend Elsa. It’s so nice to have a foodie friend here. I’ve been keeping up with KC foodie friends Casey, Michael and Marshall by texting photos of food we’re preparing/eating or detailing grand dining experiences, but it’s not the same as sharing moans of joy and spraying chicken bits all over.

When Elsa and I dug into our delicious fried chicken yesterday, we were comrades. Troops, together in the grease traps. Fending for our waistlines elbow deep in the darkest and crispiest chicka chicka I’ve ever seen.

Grandma Helen

Grandma Helen with my cousins Andrew and Kevin. Grandma and Grandpa Audley could both cook like crazy! With 12 kids and hundreds (ok, maybe not hundreds) of grandkids, there was always a tummy growling.

And no disrespect to my lovely grandmother who cooked the ba-jeezus out of fried chicken. Grandma and Grandpa Audley could both really cook! Fresh baked bread, pies, German potato salad, pancakes for the neighborhood. With 12 kids and hundreds (ok, maybe not hundreds) of grandkids, there was always a tummy growling. Grandma Helen’s pressure cooked fried chicken set my standards high. And Willie Mae’s met them.

Elsa and Chicken

Chicken > Face = Good

Somehow, and neither Elsa nor I could figure it out, but somehow the crust on the chicken was as big as the chicken. Must have been super high heat, or magic. No one knows. But holy chicken bits. Our lunch hour was like a cartoon of crispy parts flying all around in the air.

So many crispy parts! So much deliciousness. You’ve been warned, friends and family who plan to visit the dirty south. Bring extra napkins, we’re going to Willie Mae’s.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. catherine summers permalink
    July 29, 2010 4:37 pm

    thanks for the memory

  2. July 30, 2010 10:58 pm

    Just realized I met you today when you were shopping at my place of work. 🙂 For some reason I thought your name and face were familiar. From one gonola.com writer to another, hello!

  3. krobb permalink
    August 3, 2010 11:21 pm

    holy chicken bits
    need.something.fried.

  4. August 4, 2010 10:00 am

    I always thought my dearly departed grandmother made the BEST fried chicken. Until I tasted Willie Mae’s. Oh. My. Goodness.

Leave a Reply

