Skip to content

Redbeans Parade Preparation Begins NOW

November 7, 2010
Back of a Red Beans Suit

This is the back of a Red Beans suit from the Red Beans and Rice Secondline Parade. The sleeves are made from bay leaves. Dope. Photo by Rob Davis / robdavisphotography.com.

Today I painted my bathroom. I pondered this city, and the non-90 degree angles all over my house. Houses in this city are not meant to be square. Nothing in this city is square. My floors are slanted, my doors shut only sometimes. Sigh. I love it.

Tonight was the first meeting of the Redbeans Parade Krewe, a group of Lundi Gras paraders that dress in red (and black and green and yellow) beans and rice and tear it up with the Treme Brass Band and Al “Carnival Time” Johnson as the Grand Marshall. The founder of Redbeans is my my roommate, Devin Meyers. If you want more images and a back story, Chris Bickford has a great blog and set of photos from last year.

Devin Meyers

Devin Meyers with his tool of choice: the hot glue gun. Photo by Rob Davis / robdavisphotography.com.

Bonuses of Redbeans: weekly dinner made by my roommate.

Dinner? I’m sorry. I meant FEAST. NO BIG DEAL.

Mashed sweet potatoes, red beans and rice (with pig!), sausage and chicken fat gumbo w/ okra, corn and tomatoes, biscuits from scratch, barbequed chicken, and RIBS with homemade mango barbeque sauce. Yep. And brigadeiros.

NO. BIG. DEAL.

My bathroom is light pink, my belly is full, plus, and my mind is churning with ideas for my Lundi Gras bean costume, Ode to Bean Franklin. Carnival season isn’t that far away. Mardi Gras is March 8th. Must begin hot gluing NOW.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. krobb permalink
    November 7, 2010 11:14 pm

    ohhh i can’t wait to see what you come up with!
    would love to join you for that feast. sounds amazing!

Trackbacks

  1. 5 Questions for Peregrine Honig | @LoveTheCool
  2. Tip Your Hat to Meyer the Hatter in New Orleans — GoNOLA.com
  3. Redbeans Parade: Bean There or Bean Square — GoNOLA.com

Leave a Reply

