Skip to content

Lyle Lovett and His Large Band

December 6, 2010

I’ve seen a lot of music in New Orleans, but my ticketed shows have been fairly limited. What I mean by that is music here is often free of charge (although you MUST TIP!), so I rarely have to purchase an actual ticket to a show. Luckily, the tickets to Lyle Lovett and His Large Band at the Mahalia Jackson Theater on November 23, 2010 were free too, thanks to a last minute invite from my friend Dave. Dave Jordan is a musician in New Orleans who might normally be fairly difficult to impress, musically (although my air-drumming and claims of becoming a famous female drummer at age 31 seem to impress him as well). Walking out of the 2 hour show, we both quickly agreed that there may never be a concert that tops this one. Absolutely killer. Swing, rock, gospel, country, AND a short set of single-mic bluegrass. I wish my little iPhone camera did this large band justice.

Lyle Lovett and His Large Band

Lyle Lovett and His Large Band. It's not big, it's large.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2010 5:03 pm

    Lyle Lovett – check out his cover of Summer Wind in the opening scene of the movie For Love of the Game – awesome

  2. Lindsay permalink
    December 6, 2010 5:49 pm

    Lyle Lovett is my most favorite musician! I’ve loved him for over 20 years and his performances have never disappointed. I’m so glad you enjoyed it!

  3. krobb permalink
    December 6, 2010 9:00 pm

    sweet. i never woulda thought.

Leave a Reply

