Skip to content

Stupid Ass Bitch

January 6, 2012
Education New Orleans teaching

The middle post it: "Ms. Summers and the cafeteria lady are nice."

Today I was working with a student on his essay on why we have to stop killing in New Orleans, and I hear from across the room, “Stupid ass bitch.” Hmm. I look up to the back row to lock eyes with my student who immediately blames his counterpart in the front row for antagonizing him.

You see, I hear a fair bit of unprofessional language in my classroom. I try to be objective at times, especially if said with a smile or combined with a sheepish look and sincere, “My bad.” I know they often can’t control themselves no matter how much I work with them. I choose my battles, using my dirty looks wisely, and my words for instruction. Maybe I’m wrong, but there is only so much time in the day.

My back row child continues on, “He gave me the bird! I didn’t do anything! It wasn’t me!”

“Son, I didn’t see the bird. I only heard your response.”

“But he gave me the bird. Three times!”

My front row bird thrower is grinning, staring down at his desk. He’s flown the bird silently (apparently 3 times), and now the other student is treading water. Teachable moment!

I walk to the middle of my desks and have them act it out again for me, twice, which we all get a total kick out of. Once my back is to the finger, once to the mouth. I show how the mouth always loses because despite what they think, my ears don’t turn off when I turn my back.

“Gentlemen, what did you learn from that?”

A revelation: “You can still hear me even if you can’t see me. So if I’m gonna be bad, I need to be silent.”

Critical thinking at its finest. Ah, teaching.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2012 7:06 pm

    sighing with a smile 🙂

    and i see they call you ms. summers!

  2. devin permalink
    January 6, 2012 7:51 pm

    love it.

  3. james s permalink
    January 6, 2012 9:10 pm

    Great post on critical thinking. I often wonder what I would do in a situation like that.

  4. Shane permalink
    January 6, 2012 9:11 pm

    I believe it was uncle Joe who had a student that kept flipping him off using the sneaky bird eye itch. After happening several times he said the kids name, flipped the kid off and said “If your going to do it, do it right.”

  5. January 6, 2012 9:22 pm

    You all are a gift to each other!

  6. Kathy permalink
    January 6, 2012 10:14 pm

    Oh how I’d love to come volunteer as a para in your classroom! You are a wonder and a miracle worker for these kids. Don’t get discouraged. You are making a difference for them even if I’m sure you have days when you ask yourself “what am I doing here?” And I thought I had a rough day subbing in Iola with a class of hyper attention needing 5th graders at dear Jefferson!

  7. catherine permalink
    January 7, 2012 12:45 pm

    That’s my girl!
    mom

Leave a Reply

