Skip to content

Chia Obama: Hail to the Cha Cha Cha Chief

January 9, 2012
Barack Obama Chia Pet

My Barack Obama Chia Pet always tracks me when I'm introducing new material.

I have a new class pet. It’s a Chia Pet. A Barack Obama “Determined” Chia Pet.

My students are obsessed with it. Today was Chia Obama’s first day in class, and he has the slimy seeds spread all over his ribbed head. We even added a few seeds along the brow bone for some sweet eyebrows. The likeness of our 44th President comes complete with a mole near his nose, and the look of, well, audacity.

If only it was so simple with my students: soak in water, apply seeds, and watch them grow.

The Chia Pet prompted many conversations.

“Ms. Summers. Is your hair slick?”

“Slick?”

“Yeah, like does it slide around?”

“Yes, sweetheart, it’s slick and slides around everywhere. I wish I had hair like yours.” (TRUE STATEMENT.)

“My hair is nappy. I can’t wait till Friday. I get my new tracks.”

Tracks are a common topic of conversation. My kids want me to get them. I want them. Maybe I’ll create a contest for my students and reward them (and me) with hair extensions.

Later on in the same class I overheard pure, accidental genius. My highest performing female student said to a boy who mostly just writes his name and gestures with every syllable, “You look like a moose.” His response: “You look like a gecko.”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. sbrown365 permalink
    January 9, 2012 6:07 pm

    I have thoroughly enjoyed reading your blog! I am also a teacher, in my eleventh year. While I don’t teach in New Orleans, or any inner city school, for that matter, I have taught these very kids! You certainly have to learn to pick your battles and appreciate the little victories. Keep up the good work! I look forward to reading in the future!

  2. January 11, 2012 5:23 pm

    can’t wait to see your threads.

Leave a Reply

