Skip to content

Like a Pit Bull?

January 13, 2012
teaching new orleans education

At the beginning of the year, one student wouldn't write, but he would draw. We started with sentences, then moved on to paragraphs. He now writes essays!

I was squatted down today between 2 students helping one of them with the conclusion paragraph of his essay. I felt a little flick of my pony tail, and then a pat on my head. I looked over my shoulder to see a smiling face. It was one of my boys who is affectionate enough to not be afraid to touch my hair.

“Your hair feel like a pit bull. Like my old dog. Like when I petted her.”

“My hair feels like a dog’s hair? Like a pit bull?”

“Yeah. You touched her hair?” he questions the other 3 students in the room as he pets my head. Many of them have touched my hair. This was his first time. He’s such a sweet kid, tender, always writing about how much he loves his mom and protects his little sister. He means no harm. “Feels just like my dog.”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2012 5:14 pm

    omg i’m totally laughing out loud. awesome.
    and coming from HALO, and knowing the power of art, don’t you appreciate smiling illustrations?! that was the first thing i noticed.
    have a great weekend!

  2. January 16, 2012 3:35 pm

    Sunny your stories are amazing! Thank you for sharing–you are truly inspiring!

Leave a Reply

