Skip to content

Chia Obama Sprouts!

January 18, 2012
Barack Obama Chia Pet

Chia Obama has a hole in the top of his head so he can be watered. I wish my students did. "Look at this chin-chia!" shouts one student.

My Barack Obama Chia Pet sits stately on top of an Elements of Literature text book. No, I don’t teach literature (despite my deep desires to teach high school students about life through literature classes). I teach writing to over-aged middle schoolers in New Orleans. Yes, I do use this book to hold my classroom window open to let air in when I feel like we’re all suffocating in a poisonous air chamber.

I digress.

My special education coordinator came in my room at the end of the day today.

“What textbook were you issued?”

I stare at him blankly as if he’s speaking a foreign language.

“Were you issued textbooks?”

“No, sir. No textbooks.”

“So you just make everything up? Out of thin air?”

My teacher-friend Heather and I always say the tools we were given are Google and a blank word document.

“Yep.”

“So no textbooks.”

“Right.”

It’s hard to say which is better: a curriculum you have to follow or one that you create yourself based on the grade level expectations for your state. I’d say, based on my benchmark scores, that things are going pretty well with my word-document-Google method of lesson plan creation. My kids are writing some kick-ass essays, and their growth is huge in some areas, and gigantic in others.

I suppose the best thing to do is just what I do for my Chia Obama class pet: watch him closely, and when I realize his forehead is barely sprouting, turn him to face the sun.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Robin permalink
    January 18, 2012 5:13 pm

    Sunny, if you were to setup a place where we could donate money for books, I would donate. And I would spread the word for others to, as well. Are you allowed to do that?

    • January 18, 2012 5:37 pm

      I can set up a Donor’s Choose account to get books donated. Since I just teach writing, our reading teacher has done a good job of making sure she has a library that is finely tuned to their reading levels and interests. When I set it up I will for sure post the crap out of it. Thanks Robin!

  2. January 18, 2012 5:26 pm

    ha ha good one.
    and by “turn him to the sun…” you could mean your very own self!!

  3. catherine permalink
    January 18, 2012 10:41 pm

    very clever….
    dad

Leave a Reply

