Skip to content

Black?

February 15, 2012

Skin color and their accompanying stereotypes have become a common topic of conversation in my classroom in New Orleans. I get sweetly teased for having tiny lips and a pancake booty. One student commented yesterday that training for my half marathon was making my butt get bigger, clearly as a compliment. My students claim I can’t dance and that my banjo music is “too much, Ms. Summers. That’s too much.”

But one thing has had me puzzled until recently. I’ll mention a student in class and someone will describe that student as black.

“That black boy?”

“Black?” I say. “Come on. Let’s try a word that is a little more descriptive.” All of my students are black. To me, that’s not descriptive.

“You know. He black. Like 2 p.m. in the morning black.”

Yep. I get it. Win for similies. Win for descriptive language. Now about that telling time…

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 16, 2012 7:56 am

    omg i’m totally laughing out loud!
    pancake booty…
    you can do side bends and sit ups (and marathon training) but please don’t lose that but!!
    that’s too much. too much, ms. summers.

Leave a Reply

