Skip to content

Rats

February 16, 2012

I have rats in my classroom. And I’m not talking about the children. Rats eat my snacks for the children and leaves off my plants.

I also have some cute little mice who have been brave enough lately to come out during the day and run around. Today I was teasing a student about catching the mouse and dropping it in her purse if she didn’t stop talking during journal time. She got right to work until this comment from the back row: “When that rat bite you, it gon give you herpes.”

“No sweetie, that’s not how you get herpes.” I have to get them some sex ed classes.

Then, clarification from the front row from a student who speaks about once every 3 weeks: “You get herpes from having sex without a condom. You get rabies from getting bit by a rat.”

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 16, 2012 4:03 pm

    wise.
    wisdom: someone who knows a lot. but doesn’t talk a lot.

    p.s. rats in your class is totally gross. i am so sorry 😦

Leave a Reply

