Skip to content

Hickeys are for Losers

March 12, 2012
teaching new orleans

Who do you want to impress the most when you do well on your Benchmark? From my 15-year-old 6th grader who will be in 10th grade next year: he wants to impress me and my co-teacher. These are the days when teaching feels like the smooth side of sandpaper, rather than grains of broken glass.

My principal said something to me that really resonated: talk to your class like they are your students, not like they are your children. I don’t have any children. (What would I do with a child? Put it in the closet while I stayed out too late?). But there is one student that gets the same amount of mom as he gets of Ms. Summers.

During lunch, he pops up out of pencil-scribbling silence: “Hickeys hurt.”

Without thinking, I respond back, “Hickeys are for losers, man.”

He laughs at me, and I smile back with the mom smile of sweet disapproval. Then back to teacher: “It breaks blood vessels under the skin. It’s a bruise. That’s why it hurts.”

“Oh. Well first it felt good, and then it hurt.”

“No more hickeys, child. No more hickeys.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

