Skip to content

All-American Hulk Hogan

March 14, 2012
rock n roll marathon new orleans

If teaching is a (half) marathon, I'm in the middle of mile 10 and it's 90 degrees outside. I compare it to the half because unlike my over-achieving brothers Stephen and Jesse who ran the full 26.2 miles, I suffered AND CONQUERED the half marathon. A student said I looked like an all-American Hulk Hogan.

When teaching commonly confused words in New Orleans, you must come up with interesting topics to keep the kids’ attention. When discussing life, live (long i) and live (short i), I wrote a sentence about dissecting a live insect which morphed into a teachable moment about how doctors dissect human corpses. I asked them if they’d donate their bodies to science.

Uh, no.

“Come on guys, what about donating an arm or something? Help science! It’s just an arm!” I pleaded, mostly just to keep their end-of-the-day energy up.

Smilingly said as he leaned over to fist bump his neighbor, “No, man. When I go to heaven, I wanna dap people. Take a kidney or somethin’!”

When talking about the difference between waste and waist, I plugged in a little geography. I wrote that the west half of Kansas was desolate, some would say a ______land.

“Which kind of waste goes in that sentence?” The kids all scribble down their answers on their white boards. I point out each student for getting it right. “Tell me why we know it’s w-a-s-t-e.” I ask why all the time. They must know why. Otherwise it’s just guessing.

From the cheap seats in the back row, I hear my toothless car-jacker who is on house arrest and is required to come to school now: “Kansas can’t feel like a body part!”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. moonmaid permalink
    March 14, 2012 4:06 pm

    The toothless car jacker gets the comment of the day! lol

  2. kmrobb1 permalink
    March 15, 2012 4:54 pm

    i wanna dap your toothless car-jacker…

Leave a Reply

