Skip to content

Gang Bang Wit Da Flinstones

March 16, 2012
New Orleans Education

This is my homework tetris student tracker. Each row is a toothless grin.

Yesterday was the last day of our trimester, so I spent today at school, sans students, working on grading, grades, and the overarching issue of discipline of kids who respond 90% of the time with, “Iohne cah.” That means I don’t care for you traditional English speakers.

You know, when they’re gone, I kinda miss them.

I miss unprompted quotes like this:

“Ms. Summers, you know what my thang is? Listenin’ to my music and smokin’ my pot.” (To which I could only respond, “That’s great.”)

I use Spanish sometimes in class to keep the kids on their toes. Instead of asking why, I will say, “Porque?” When they’re not here, I miss responses like this:

“Pork chop.”

And last but not least, I miss overhearing exchanges like this:

“You know, my grandma be born in ’44. She be old.”

“Man, she used ta gang bang wit’ da Flinstones.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

