Skip to content

Bananas Make My Tone Itch

March 27, 2012
teaching new orleans

Words of encouragement from my co-teacher.

Things I hear on a daily basis while teaching in New Orleans:

Iowntcah. Empahsis on the CAH. Translates to I don’t care.

You be blowin’ me. That means I’m making the student mad. I assure you, there is no blowing.

How old you is. Yep, that’s not a question. That means how old are you. Which is a question.

What time it is. Again. Not a question. What time IS it? A sad discovery is that many cant’ tell time.

I gotta use it bad. That means you really need to go to the bathroom.

Imma batchu. That mean someone is going to hit you. This is not directed at me.

You down bad. This means someone did something not nice, and is usually said in jest.

I am JOKED out. or  You is JOKED out. This usually accompanies laughter.

Today I heard two choice mistakes. A 16-year-old girl (rocket scientist) was attempting to say Terrific, but she kept saying Porific. When I asked her what she meant, she was baffled that Terrific started with a T sound. Later during lunch she told me, “Bananas make my tone itch.”

“Huh? Your toe?” Even the other students eating with us questioned why her toe would itch.

“No,” she says, sticking out her tongue, “my TONE!”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. kmrobb1 permalink
    March 27, 2012 7:51 pm

    oh man, i was going somewhere else with the “tone” but this is worse!

    i love your co-teacher 🙂

  2. Cathy permalink
    March 27, 2012 10:02 pm

    Some people say that “What time it is?” has its roots in French grammar, from when New Orleans was Nouvelle Orleans: Quelle heure est il?

Leave a Reply

