Skip to content

Attention Span of a House Fly

March 29, 2012
teaching new orleans

This sentence checklist is always on the wall in my classroom.

I revisit this question a lot: what 4 things do we have to include in every sentence?

Today I overheard this exchange between 2 students who have the combined attention span of a house fly, as my co-teacher stood underneath and pointed to the poster I have in my room:

“What’s the 4 things a sentence s’posed to have?”

“Respect. Love. Courage. Contegrity.”

“No, in a sentence.”

“Preschool. Middle school. High school. College.”

“That’s 5 things.”

“Oh.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

