Skip to content

Die, Log

April 23, 2012
teaching new orleans

When I drew this die-log on the board, the kids said it looked like a blunt, so I added the straggling twigs.

Today was the first day of our new trimester. My 8th grade students who pass the LEAP will be banking my Composition class for high school credit. Today was a big day. My older kids who are several years behind are getting their first taste of high school.

So I gave them the list of their portfolio items (and no, none of them could spell the word portfolio on their exit tickets) and went over what each of those things will shape up to be. My students are writing a letter, a song, 3 poems, a mystery story, a one-act, haiku Tweets (I know!), and a dialogue exchange.

“Who in here can tell me what dialogue is?”

Blank stares.

“When you dye your long hair?” He giggled at himself. “Psyche.”

“When a log die?” She means dies. Lots of the letter S have defected. “Ha. Die, log.”

Stay tuned, people. There will soon be a blog of writing by my middle-school-turned-almost-9th-graders for the world to read. And to those of you who have passed along your hard-earned dollars to help my babies eat on our field trip, THANK YOU.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Claudia Gibson permalink
    April 23, 2012 4:22 pm

    I love it! and it did look like a blunt, lol. Can’t wait to read the blog. BTW, a friend of my son’s is doing Teach For America in NOLA – said your blog is becoming very popular among teachers there.

  2. Christina permalink
    April 23, 2012 4:51 pm

    I read the first part of this post on the WordPress reader and though it must be TFA! I know someone who is doing TFA in Mississippi. I can’t wait to hear some more stories of your kids.

    • April 23, 2012 5:04 pm

      TeachNOLA rather than TFA although our programs aren’t significantly different. Thanks for reading!

  3. kmrobb1 permalink
    April 23, 2012 6:03 pm

    i look forward to their writings. i know you’ll teach them well 🙂
    congrats on all the blog props! you rock!

Leave a Reply

