Skip to content

Bowling Without Socks

May 3, 2012
bowling without socks

Something is very wrong with this picture. Do you see socks? No. No you do not.

I reached a new personal low in life Tuesday night.

We had arrived in Montgomery, Alabama, our first overnight stop on our trip from New Orleans to North Carolina. We were going bowling.

Ms. Summers, the teacher who is always prepared (because a being prepared as a teacher means you have peaceful classes and successful students), forgot socks.

Yeah, that’s me. No socks.

So, I think, they’ll sell socks at the bowling alley. Surely.

They didn’t.

But the lady working the counter was kind enough to double spray my shoes. I promised the kids I would bowl with them, so I eased my feet into the filthy, wet shoes and felt the germ-killing spray spread through my toes like standing in the warm foot bath at the municipal pool in Iola, Kansas.

Not good.

Of all the sacrifices I’ve made for my students, all the late nights and money spent and nightmares and upset stomachs, this single act was the low point. Nowhere to go but up.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Amamama permalink
    May 3, 2012 4:07 pm

    oh honey – just think of it as one step better than a pedicure from really dirty place. :s

  2. May 3, 2012 4:10 pm

    I am not sure that I could have done that. You are amazing.

  3. kmrobb1 permalink
    May 3, 2012 4:54 pm

    that is pretty gnarly. i’m so sorry for your feet! add this to the things you’ll have nightmares about!

  4. Becky permalink
    August 27, 2012 2:45 pm

    Lol. I just went bowling without socks this weekend and I know EXACTLY what you mean when you talk about sliding your bare feet into dirty leather shoes wet with disinfectant spray. Yuck!

    It might not have been so bad to just wear bowling shoes without socks if I didn’t have to share them with hundreds or even thousands of other people with unknown hygine. But yes, like you, I did it anyways. Guess I figured, I was already up at the bowling alley with friends and forgot my socks, since I basically never wear socks with my own shoes, so why not. What could it hurt? Hmm. Well, it could be gross thats what. You nailed it right on. Very funny write up!

Leave a Reply

