Skip to content

Mother

May 11, 2012
Catherine Summers

Moms are awesome.

One of my 15-year-old students is almost 6 months pregnant. She comes to school everyday, bigger and bigger. Her uniform pants don’t fit anymore, but her mom can’t take her to get any more. Trumping the freshmen 15 that many of us tacked on, growing out of your school uniform because you’re having a baby must be a trip.

She goes to her doctor’s appointments alone. Her baby daddy is just some guy that her mom let stay at the house. She has talked to him just a couple times since she found out she was pregnant. Her mom spends her time with her boyfriend, and refuses to talk to my student about the situation, other than to point out how she makes mistake after mistake. She says she is afraid to be a mother because of the way her mother makes her feel. She says she is lonely, and doesn’t know who to talk to. Her little brother and sister touch her belly but she says it feels wrong.

She just found out she’s having a girl.

This is a letter she wrote to her unborn baby for her class writing portfolio, fitting as we approach Mother’s Day this weekend.

Dear (           ),

I am a 15 year old girl named S. and I am your mother. I am 20 weeks and 6 days pregnant. I am too young for children right now but since I have you I am making the best of it.

It’s a little hard to continue my everyday life being pregnant but my goals are to finish school with a high school diploma and to give you a life I only dreamed of.

Though you are still inside of me you are the most important thing in my life. I never planned to get pregnant but you will never be a mistake that I made, in fact I hope I am a wonderful mother and for you to be my greatest accomplishment.

To my lovely baby girl,

From your mother S.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. kmrobb1 permalink
    May 11, 2012 3:33 pm

    ugh, i think i cry every time i read this blog. i wish and pray for her.

  2. May 11, 2012 3:52 pm

    ohmygoodness, this makes me sad.

Leave a Reply

