Skip to content

Aunt Flo Came to Town

June 1, 2012

“Hey, Dub-C.”

One of the Deans comes to see me in my classroom after school. He comes down for candy quite often. Or chips. Or to relate a funny story about homemade pepper spray or parent phone calls when the parents swear the kid leaves the house in a uniform every morning but we haven’t seen him or her in weeks. Many months ago, he started calling me White Chocolate or a variation thereof.

“Hey, Chocolate Thunder.” The man is 6’8″ and more than a couple hundred pounds. He’s not just thunder, he’s a whole storm front.

Chocolate Thunder tells me that one of our students had a legitimate excuse for leaving school early.

He, yes, HE, let security know, in seriousness, that HE had to leave because his stomach was upset. In fact, his “monthly flow came down”.

Now I know New Orleans is a little different than other places, and our kids are something really special. But I’m guessing he didn’t actually start his period, he just overheard this excuse works like a charm. I’m guessing he also believes in the Easter Bunny.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2012 7:50 pm

    a friend of mine told me about your blog and i have to tell you…i just love it! you truly know how to tell a story and i so enjoy your blog! kudos to you for making an impact on today’s youth!

  2. June 1, 2012 9:13 pm

    you’ve got to be kidding me…
    i know you’re not…

  3. June 6, 2012 11:30 pm

    Love your writing – makes me laugh and makes me cry! You are a saint, whether you know it or not. I love you. Come see me this summer! I keep hoping for a storm, so you will come – Love you – Aunt Peggy

Leave a Reply

