Skip to content

String Cheese Smell Like Booty

June 8, 2012
Lunch Bag

If this lunch bag could talk…

My students in New Orleans assess everything from my outfit (You got SWAG!! or You look like a granny!) to my hair (Ms. Summers, you got beaucoup grey hair!) to my home made lunch (Why you ain’t never eat no chicken?). Yesterday, this:

Ms. Summers, you probby eat dat white cheese. My old teacher? She white. She ate dat white cheese. She rip it off an eat it. In itty bitty pieces. It smell like booty.

She mimes putting the tiniest pieces of cheese into her mouth, ripping them off the stick of cheese.

She’s giggling. I’m giggling.

What that called?

You mean string cheese?

Ya. That stuff be nasty. String cheese smell like booty. Me? I eat African cheese.

What’s African cheese?

Ooh, African cheese. It be good.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2012 1:50 pm

    do you know what kind of cheese she’s talking about? i want to know!!
    btw, i have said “beaucoup” but never knew where it came from. i just googled it since now, because of your posting, i know how it’s spelled. thanks for the mini-lesson 🙂

  2. June 8, 2012 1:54 pm

    My kids spell is “buku”. They had no idea it was actually a French word! And no, neither I nor she knows what African cheese is. I think she just meant what kind her family eats (versus what kind I eat).

Leave a Reply

