Skip to content

Baby Pool of Deception: The DIY Fruit Fly Trap

June 22, 2012
DIY Fruit Fly Trap

Flies, be gone!

A couple months ago, someone fired Ms. Belva, the most amazing janitor ever, and replaced her with 2 or 4 (I can’t tell if they’re janitors or just bringing friends to work?) terribly under-qualified and ill-equipped part-part-part-time staff. Our trash is dumped on good days, the paper towels in the bathroom are either out or threaded incorrectly. Nothing like a bunch of wet bathroom hands to spread disease. The floors have accumulated tumble-weave from all the hair that floats around. And yes, our entire length of hall way is infested with fruit flies.

So I made my own fruit fly trap. A little vinegar, dish soap, plastic wrap and a rubber band. Poke a hole in the top and watch the idiot flies go after the rotten piece of banana that’s festering in the baby pool of deception. Their feet get soapy as they huff the vinegar. Poof. Dead flies. Or trapped flies. I’m barbaric. Sue me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 25, 2012 12:28 am

    So I got sucked into those Versatile Blogger Awards and nominated you on my blog, feel free to check it out or ignore, I just like taking the chance to share blogs I enjoy reading, like yours!

Leave a Reply

