Skip to content

First World Problems

January 2, 2013
This is how easy my life is. Be like Harry the cat, Sunny. Like the cat.

This is how easy my life is. Harry has no problems. Be like Harry the cat, Sunny. Like the cat.

My oldest brother Stephen uttered my favorite new phrase. I had just landed at Dulles, and I was talking about my flight. It had been a bit delayed coming from Seattle. A delayed flight is a first world problem. I mean, I was FLYING. In the air. Across the country. First world problems are things like your four dollar coffee being not quite hot enough, or it raining on the last day of your beach vacation. You know, all those things that the rest of the world wishes they had to complain about. First world problems are crap.

I’m not much on New Year’s resolutions. I guess it’s because I like to just go with the flow. Like I don’t want to make certain plans or promises I might not feel like keeping. This drives my partner crazy. He likes plans and structure and being on time. I like feeling things out, doing what feels good right then, and missing ferries because I’m changing clothes one too many times.

But this year I’m going to try to stick with a pseudo resolution. I’m going to stop with the first world problems. They’re not problems. So what if the pillow in the gorgeous vacation house is a little lumpy? So what if it’s cold and windy on the ski slopes? So what if I have to volunteer at a school instead of getting a job? So what if I miss New Orleans? So what? First world problems.

So. I only made it 12 hours into 2013 before eating chocolate. My partner and I couldn’t make it 24 minutes without snapping at each other. I haven’t exercised. Not once. But I’ve been silent and grinning all day. It’s a start.

—-

Watch Louis C.K.’s bit on flying. It’s awesome.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. T Giachino permalink
    January 2, 2013 11:43 pm

    tomorrow I will try this!

  2. Claudia G permalink
    January 3, 2013 8:11 am

    About the non-teaching thing: every state has some sort of alternative certification program which can get you back in the classroom fairly quickly. Do it! Kids need gifted teachers like yourself.

Leave a Reply

