Skip to content

Grandma Pancake Booty Returns

February 20, 2013
My Little Red Bean Riding Hood cape for the Redbeans Parade (crafted from beans and hot glue). I put my longing for New Orleans into that thing. It weighed 20 pounds.

Regard my Little Red Bean Riding Hood cape for the Redbeans Parade (crafted from beans and hot glue). I put my longing for New Orleans into that thing. It weighed 20 pounds.

My favorite security guard screamed my name as soon as I walked in the cafeteria. “Ms. Summers! I knew it was you ‘cross tha room ’cause I saw your flat ass!” She slaps her leg. “Grandma Pancake Booty!”

I went to see my students in New Orleans when I was there for Mardi Gras, and it was everything I wanted it to be.

During passing periods and at lunch I got picked up, jumped on, screamed at, whispered to, and hugged on. They’re taller, fatter, have deeper voices, longer hair, and the same senses of humor that endeared them to me in the first place. They’re growing into men and women. They all wanted to talk about Aaron who was recently gunned down. Two girls tried to convince me to make their prom dresses. Two of my kids from last year who had crushes on each other are now boyfriend/girlfriend. Kids who weren’t doing so well last year are killing it this year. Loving geometry. And Spanish. Excited about school.

I sat next to the fund-raising stand in the cafeteria and listened to the shrill cries of the students, sharing sour gummies and crunching hot fries, complaining about the bad cafeteria food and talking trash during their lunch time basketball game. The sun was shining and I could feel beads of sweat gathering. It was humid and wonderful. It felt like time had reversed and I was still their teacher on a regular Thursday, beginning a Do Now, picking out a Mariah Carey song for journaling time.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2013 2:24 pm

    So glad you got back and that it was so fantastic!!! MmmmmMariah Carey!

  2. Katie Bolton permalink
    February 20, 2013 9:02 pm

    Grandma Pancake Booty…That ROCKED! from your (hopeful) future sister-in-law!

Leave a Reply

