Skip to content

Blazing the Oregon Trail

March 6, 2013
Nothing says breakfast like taxidermy.

Nothing says breakfast like taxidermy at the Oregon Trail Cafe in Baker City, OR.

I’m settled into hotel #2 for my New Orleans or Bust road trip. For the second day I followed the Oregon Trail across the country from Baker City, OR, landing tonight in Laramie, WY.

Every sign I saw advertising the historic site reminded me of playing The Oregon Trail on the computer in grade school. My oxen died. I hunted bison. Snakebites and dysentery took family members. Life was fragile.

This hotel has softer bedding, bigger towels, and an in-room coffee pot. Tonight’s price almost doubled from last night’s bargain of $43 to $82. I don’t remember hotels being this cheap. Better than the suggestion of a Subway sandwich artist in Idaho who was certain I’d be sleeping in my car. Maybe it was the overalls.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

