Skip to content

First Day of School

March 10, 2013
Jesse and I got the best presents from my great aunt Barbara in the mail. She sent boxes of carob covered fruit and Barbie dolls and awesome matching outfits. Best great-aunt ever.

Jesse and I got the best presents from my great aunt Barbara in the mail. She sent boxes of carob covered fruit and Barbie dolls and awesome matching outfits. Best great-aunt ever.

Tomorrow is the first day of school and I don’t know what to wear.

I remember the first day of 8th grade. I wore my cut off Guess jean shorts, a black and white striped t-shirt that was too big, and I borrowed my mom’s black slip on shoes with a black and white elastic across the toe (of course to match the t-shirt). I found those cut off jean shorts at a garage sale for just a few dollars, and the Guess triangle was hanging on by a thread, so I went home and hand sewed it on. I wanted so desperately to have brand name jeans. It seems silly now, especially because I’m buying my favorite things at thrift stores and garage sales.

I remember being dropped off at high school one day with my brother Jesse. He was wearing a blue and purple tank top and pink shorts but he didn’t know his tank top didn’t match his shorts because he’s color blind. I told him he didn’t match as we were getting out of the car and he got so mad at me that I had waited until we got to school. (His wife ensures he is excellently dressed now.)

I remember the pressure of French rolling my jeans in middle school, and then when Kristi Garver didn’t French roll her jeans one day, and we all stopped doing it because it wasn’t cool anymore. I used to roll and re-roll my jeans 20 times a day. Wearing straight legged jeans gave me an hour of my day back.

I remember being in grade school and even middle school trying on my Uncle Larry’s letter jacket that hung in the upstairs closet at my grandmother’s house. It was so heavy, covered in metal athletic accolades. I remember permanently borrowing my dad’s flannel shirts to wear in high school when my uniform was my dad’s old Levi’s jeans, thermals, flannels and Eastland boots.

We show the world who we are by what we wear. I show the kids and teachers who’ve all been together in New Orleans since August who I am tomorrow. First impressions matter. It seems silly. It’s clearly the least of my concerns at this point, but worrying about what I’ll wear is worrying about editing who I am, or who I want to be. It’s the first day of school, you remember. It’s important.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2013 11:37 pm

    have a great first day!!!

  2. March 13, 2013 9:24 am

    I posted photos on Monday night. 🙂

  3. Kristi bettga permalink
    March 14, 2013 10:37 pm

    Wow…. I had no idea what an influence I was! Love reading your blog, Sunny!!

Leave a Reply

