Skip to content

Even If You Tried

March 14, 2013
My brother and I (and our million cousins) spent countless hours playing games including Indian Poker at my grandpa and grandma Audley's house. Grandpa Audley is the reason I went to college and how I learned to make fried chicken and why I'm a teacher.

My brother and I (and our million cousins) spent countless hours playing games. Like tops with community straws. And Indian Poker with matchsticks for betting. Grandpa and Grandma Audley’s house was the depot for learning when I was little. Grandpa Audley is the reason I went to college and how I learned to make fried chicken and why I’m a teacher.

Today’s 12 hour school day in New Orleans ended with Family Literacy and Math Night. Red beans. A reading vs. math debate. Rap videos about math and books. And a 10 minute performance by a marching band in the cafeteria. Lemme tell ya, a long day teaching, planning, thinking, and staring at data, is best ended by dancing in the cafeteria with plastic gloves on because you’re serving hot sausage to families who are happy to be at school at 6:30 on a Thursday night. Pretty much the best day ever.

I  teared up when the marching band started playing indoors, the same way I did when the sound of the bagpipes hit me when I was 14 and my grandfather had died and the musicians started playing in the church before the casket was carried out. It was intense. The sound is big and even if you tried you couldn’t think of anything else.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2013 6:01 am

    That is rad. Drumlines can be moving. Happy you could end your day with happy emotions!

  2. March 15, 2013 9:46 am

    You touch my heart! I had a tear just thinking of it. Intense. I’ll be in New Orleans next weekend and it makes me smile to know that you’re there!!!

Leave a Reply

