Skip to content

Rebirthday in New Orleans

May 4, 2013
Harry the Cat

New Orleans is about to get two more residents: Tyler and Harry the Cat, in less than 2 weeks!

I was spending the late afternoon hours combing through racks of clothes at Goodwill on Tulane and Jeff Davis in New Orleans today when I noticed a young boy staring at me. “I like your dress.”

I smiled at him. Thanked him. Unusual for a young kid to have that confidence. I guessed him around 10.

A few minutes later, I saw him again. “I just really like that dress.”

I told him I had actually bought it at that very Goodwill. It’s a bright orange and purple African fabric patterned dress.

He was wearing a Lemonade Day shirt. Today was Lemonade Day in New Orleans, and the town was bustling with hundreds of kids selling lemonade at their makeshift lemonade stands. Kirshawn told me that he alone sold over $100.

We talked for about 5 minutes. He told me he loved school so much that he asked to go to summer school. That he loved his teacher. I told him that I was a teacher too. His eyes got big. I told him maybe he could be one of my students some day. He told me about his 17 year old sister and 13 year old brother and 5 month old little baby brother. He told me he was a good student. In 3rd grade. And which teacher he wanted for 4th grade and why.

I said, “I bet you have a wonderful mother.” He shook his head and said, “I do. I love her so much.” Then he walked me over to meet her. She and I chatted about the One App process of school selection and how she’d like all her kids to be at the same school. I told her what a bright and confident young son she had, and that he said how much he loved his mother. They both glowed. And then he hugged onto her.

When they left the store, Kirshawn came to tell me goodbye. I told him he made my day.

Today was such a New Orleans day. The sun was out. Seventy degrees. The French Quarter was alive with tourists in for Jazz Fest. I watched with gratitude the city’s inhabitants, so glad to be home. A perfect day to celebrate my birth and my rebirth as a New Orleanian once again.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Deb permalink
    May 5, 2013 3:52 am

    What a heartwarming story! I am a teacher, too. I hope to visit New Orleans someday.

  2. scott permalink
    May 5, 2013 9:53 am

    sds, that is awesomeness. even though it’s a day late, mega-happs from the pnw!

Leave a Reply

