Skip to content

The Last 72 Hours

August 30, 2013
Under a moment of duress, I stood under the Promethean board and literally saw the light. It was spiritual. One of the class time-keepers took this picture of me with my phone. I discovered it later.

Under a moment of duress, I stood under the Promethean board and literally saw the light. It was spiritual. One of the class time-keepers took this picture of me with my phone. I discovered it later.

In the last 72 hours as a teacher in New Orleans, I’ve heard it all. Here’s a sampling of the soundtrack:

You don’t have enough desks? You have 30-how-many kids in your classes?

What we’re doing here, the fire marshall would say is illegal.

It’s too [cold, hot, early, late] to do work.

Get out my face.

Please don’t call my mama.

Can I be the time-keeper?

You just made my day.

Don’t believe a word my daughter says.

I need a favor. Please call my dad and tell him how good I’m doing.

I deserve hot chips. I do your homework! I never done nobody’s homework!

My brother, his car got shot up last night. He died. He was in college and everything.

My uncle died last night. And my rabbit.

My dog died this morning.

I’m having lady problems and I’m gonna faint.

I had a seizure.

I been in the hospital for 3 days.

My shift from 11 till 2 in the morning.

You have a booger in your nose.

Your shoes are whack.

Your outfit is poo.

That’s my jam.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 30, 2013 8:39 pm

    just keep collecting. these are the pages of your book! also, i have a photo to send you from a trip i went on. i think you’ll see a lot of connections!

Leave a Reply

