Skip to content

New Building for Sci High in New Orleans

September 11, 2015
I'm a rain bucket is half-full sort of teacher.

I’m a rain-bucket-is-half-full sort of teacher.

Hi. Long time no write. Life has been busy, to say the least. But school started August 10th, and it’s glorious! I love my new group of kids so much. More on them later.

Today’s post is to report on new and exciting things going on at Sci High! After last night’s school board meeting where Miles Jordan and Casey Diehl spoke on behalf of our school, the Orleans Parish School Board voted all in for the approval of our money for a new building. Both boys talked about the student/teacher relationships that we have at Sci High that are so unique and special to our environment. It’s worth the couple minutes to watch just to see and hear what’s really going on inside our school building. It’s beautiful.

The $35 million hopefully means I won’t forever be in a classroom where the weather elements inside reflect the weather elements outside. Although, I must say, the tick tick tock of the rain is somehow soothing. You know, as long as the ceiling doesn’t come in.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2015 4:12 pm

    I watched the video! That’s fantastic! I love how proud they are of their inspiration and relationships with their teachers. Thank you for being one of those teachers. I’m thrilled they approved funding for the new building. I believe that will be a setting where both teachers and students will thrive! You are doing great things. Keep it up!!

  2. Shawn Thomas permalink
    November 18, 2015 10:22 pm

    Hi Mrs.Summers I didn’t know that you did this type of thing. Its very interesting.👍👌👏

Leave a Reply

